• News
  • CO-OP NATCCO Gets One Seat in the House of Representatives

CO-OP NATCCO Gets One Seat in the House of Representatives

Posted May 13, 2022


Thanks to Cooperation Among Cooperatives, Philippine co-ops have at least two seats in Congress, one for AGAP Partylist and one for COOP-NATCCO Partylist!

Our very own COOP-NATCCO Partylist again occupies one seat in the House of Representatives after garnering 342,757  votes so far at the May 9 elections.

COOP-NATCCO Partylist ranks number 29 among the 177 Partylist groups vying for 63 seats in Congress. 

Filemon Espares, former Manager of the highly successful Barbaza Multi-Purpose Cooperative in Antique, will occupy CNPL’s lone seat.  

Other Coop Bloc Partylists fared quite well: AGAP ranked number 27 with 365,250 votes,  APEC at #47 with 270,073 votes, and PHILRECA at #53 with 242,004 votes.

The COMELEC has not announced Partylists that will get seats and how many. 

These figures were reported by the GMA Network website as of 3 PM on May 12 based on 98.35% of the nationwide election returns.

All four Senate bets endorsed by COOP-NATCCO stand within the “Magic 12”:  Loren Legarda (#2) , Mike Villar  (6th), Miguel Zubiri (8th), and Risa Hontiveros (11th).

The Senatorial candidates were endorsed based on their previous authorship or endorsement of co-operative-friendly bills pushed by COOP-NATCCO Partylist in Congress, together with other “Coop Bloc” legislators.

These four are seen  to ensure that the co-op sector’s advocacies or legislative agenda will be pushed as well in the Senate.

CNPL has the following legislative agenda:  

1)    Retention of tax exemption of co-ops under Articles 60 and 61 of the Cooperative Code

2)    Requiring Local Governments 2% of appropriation to development projects

3)    Stabilization Fund System for all co-operatives

4)    Cooperative deposit insurance

5)    Establishing transport loan co-operative fund for modernization

6)    Philippine crop insurance (PCIC) for farmers

7)    Cooperative Banking Act

8)    Condonation of penalties and Loans by farmers, and

9)    Amendments on some provisions of the Cooperative Code (RA 9520) 


  • Co-op Laws
  • COOP NATCCO Partylist
  • Cooperative laws
  • cooperative legislation
  • House of Representatives
  • Philippine Congress
  • philippines

Other news you might find interesting