• Lezo MPC's Champion, Aklan's Pride

    AKLAN – She served the National and Local Government as a dedicated, hardworking Municipal Agriculturist Extension Worker of the Municipality of Lezo for 42 years, before she retired in 2010.  And Emelinda Revestir-de la Cruz has proven herself to be Read More
  • COOP-NATCCO Partylist guns for 3 seats

    All cooperative members, leaders, staff, management and stakeholders are reminded to support COOP-NATCCO Partylist (CNPL) in the upcoming 2019 Elections.  Support is through – voting, campaigning, or providing finances and logistics.   The CNPL, since 1998, has endeavored to protect Read More
  • Ravanera, Chinese Counterpart Sign Agreement

    The Cooperative Development Authority (CDA) represented by Chairperson Orlando R. Ravanera and the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs (MARA) of the People's Republic of China represented by Han Changfu, signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOU) for the Strengthening of Read More
  • Financial Pillar Shows Challenges & Hopes of Co-ops

    DAVAO CITY – One of the highlights of the 14th National Cooperative Summit was the Financial Pillar Presentation.  The Financial Pillar is considered to be the most “liquid” sector of the cooperative, delving into financial services.   The Finance Pillar Read More
  • How Lamac MPC Engages Youth

    DAVAO CITY - Co-op Youth Leader Justine Limocon of Lamac Multi-Purpose Cooperative in Cebu Province, spoke at the Cooperative Summit before more than 3,000 co-op leaders from all over the country, urging them to engage the youth in their cooperatives.   Read More
  • NATCCO GA on April 26-28 in Iloilo City

    ILOILO CITY – Representatives of member cooperatives of the NATCCO Network will converge in Iloilo City on April 26-28 for the 17th Coop Leaders Congress and the 42nd General Assembly.  Venue is the Grand Xing Imperial Hotel.   This year’s Read More
  • Coop Philippines Marque Launched at 14th Summit

    DAVAO CITY – To establish the co-op brand and identity in the country, the Co-op Sector launched at the 14th National Cooperative Summit the Co-op Marque Philippines.   This is in line with International Cooperative Alliance thrust for “Vision 2020”, Read More
  • Dr. Luis Carrillo: Bigay Pugay Awardee 2018

    Dr. Luis Carrillo sought wisdom from the written divine revelation, fascinated with numbers, and believed cooperation is the key to attain better quality of life for humanity.    He obtained a Diploma in Pastoral Theology from International Grace Bible Institute Read More
  • ICA Backs Zero Tolerance for Harassment & Discrimination

    BUENOS AIRES – The cooperative movement has approved a formal commitment towards the promotion of a decent working environment and zero tolerance for any form of harassment. The fact that a global actor like the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) commits Read More
  • Felisa Palencia: Bicol Region’s Bigay Pugay Awardee

    BAAO, CAMARINES SUR – An educator and training provider, Director Felisa M. Palencia has been instrumental in the training and education of the cooperators in this Municipality. She has been a member of the Baao Parish Multi- Purpose Cooperative for Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

Weather Bureau Cooperative Celebrates 65th

When the Philippine Weather Bureau was undergoing rehabilitation due to the devastation wrought by the World War II, a core of enterprising weathermen established the Weather Bureau Employees Association (WBEA). The aims were, a) to promote brotherhood and unity among members; and b) to solicit from each member any form of assistance they can extend or give whenever one of their fellow members meets untimely death.
The same core of men that founded the WBEA, Casimiro del Rosario, Ricardo C. Cruz, Joaquin Gallego, Ruben de Castro, Angel Litonjua, Gelacio Tolentino, Felipe Arenas, Bonifacio dela Cruz, Jose A. Parilla, Segundo C. Alejo, Eliseo V. Bautista, Jose M. Reyes, Pedro Gallardo, Enrique Tayag and Agustin B. Lazo, organized a cooperative which was independent and separate from the WBEA. As the cooperative’s incorporators, they ratified on March 13, 1953 the Articles of Incorporation and By-laws of what they named as Weather Bureau Credit Union, Incorporated (WBCUI).
The Securities and Exchange Commission approved on May 21, 1953 the registration of the credit union as a non-stock cooperative association under the provisions of Commonwealth Act No. 565. While the Union did not have capital stock, the incorporators still certified that the “Credit Union is formed primarily to serve the needs of its members…”. The funds that were used for operations came from the membership fees collected at P1.00 per member and from the mandatory deposits of not less than P50.00 per member paid in cash or in installments.
A few years later, the WBCUI ceased to be registered with the SEC when all cooperatives had to register with the new agency for cooperatives – the Cooperatives Administration Office (CAO) – in accordance with Republic Act No. 2023. The name of the Weather Bureau Credit Union, Inc. became Weather Bureau Cooperative Credit Union, Incorporated (WBCCUI).
In 1973, pursuant to the provisions of Presidential Decree No. 175, the WBCCUI was yet again re-registered with the Bureau of Cooperatives Development (BCOD) and became known as the Weather Bureau Kilusang Bayan for Credit, Incorporated (WBKBCI).
Under Republic Act No. 6938, known as the Cooperative Code of the Philippines, the WBKBCI was again re-registered under a new name – the Weather Bureau Credit Cooperative (WBCC) – this time with the Cooperative Development Authority.
The Weather Bureau Credit Cooperative needs to grow with the needs of the community it serves. For the past few years there has been an advocacy focused on expanding the services of the Cooperative by converting it into a multi-purpose enterprise. The stage for a referendum was almost ready when Republic Act No. 9520, the Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008, was signed into law by President Gloria Arroyo on February 2009. The law became effective on March 2, 2009. 
In anticipation of its becoming a multi-purpose cooperative, a Manual of Operations had been crafted to be compatible with a new Weather Bureau Credit, Savings and Development Cooperative (WBCSDC).
Co-ops endeavor to raise their capacities and improve their services for the well-being of their communities. It is in this aspect that at every turn that a re-registration was necessary, the cooperative of PAGASA employees – bona fide and retired – took the opportunities of raising its standards of governance and increasing its services to be relevant to the needs of its members and the community linked with its affairs. The Weather Bureau Credit Cooperative maintains the spirit expressed by its founding fathers who declared: the “Credit Union is formed primarily to serve the needs of its members…”
The co-op joined the NATCCO Network in January 2018.  WBCSDC manages Assets worth P88 Million, belonging to its 860 members.

Do you have exciting events in your coop? Share it with us, and we'll feature it in our website!

Email us:
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mail your Documents to:
NATCCO Network
c/o Member Relations and Networking Group
227 J.P. Rizal Street Proj.4 Quezon City 1109

For more Information:
913.70.11-15 loc.310
912.54.10 (telefax)